Region of Western Macedonia

The Region of Western Macedonia covers a total surface of 9451 km2, 7.2% of country’s total. The nature of the region is mountainous, while Aliakmonas travels down through it. The Region of Western Macedonia is situated in the northern part of Greece and borders with Albania and FYROM. It is the only region without sea coast. Western Macedonia is divided into the regional units of Grevena, Kastoria, Kozani and Florina.

The productive character of the area is still determined by the energy industry and secondarily the fur industry. However, the virgin and still underexplored landscapes provide a fruitful ground for tourism to develop.